1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. The forum has been upgraded to a more recent and user-friendly software, called "XenForo".
    It will take some time to get everything set up and running smoothly, so please report any bug you may find to the forum staff.
    Thank you for your patience.

Sim City 5

Discussion in 'Other Games' started by WildSnorlax, Mar 5, 2013.

  1. WildSnorlax

    WildSnorlax Level IV

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,510
    Likes Received:
    95
    Location:
    Alberta, Canada
    Okay, the last time I played Sim City was when it looked like pixels LOL. But toady I saw someone talk about it on my FB so I was like "Okay you know what, I am looking this game up and see what it has to offer"

    BAM!
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AvFChN_VQK0

    It sold me lol. So I am getting it :D
     
  2. Charlie

    Charlie Level IV

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Messages:
    2,097
    Likes Received:
    52
    pickin it up today
     
  3. KeKNoRRiS

    KeKNoRRiS Level III

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2008
    Messages:
    451
    Likes Received:
    1
    I heard the maps were really small. No mega cities anymore :(
     
  4. WildSnorlax

    WildSnorlax Level IV

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,510
    Likes Received:
    95
    Location:
    Alberta, Canada
    Charlie - let me know how goes!

    KeKNoRRiS - Really? So that means you'll have to delete stuff you don't need right? I am not very familiar with the game but small map is usually not a good thing in any game :p
     
  5. KeKNoRRiS

    KeKNoRRiS Level III

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2008
    Messages:
    451
    Likes Received:
    1
    I don't think it's that much of a problem. You can build multiple cities to trade with. But it will not be possible to build the mega uber huge cites from before.
     
  6. WildSnorlax

    WildSnorlax Level IV

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,510
    Likes Received:
    95
    Location:
    Alberta, Canada
    Well poop, there goes being the mayor if a metropolitan area :p
     
  7. KeKNoRRiS

    KeKNoRRiS Level III

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2008
    Messages:
    451
    Likes Received:
    1
    It should be possible to make designated areas for certain features. Like one area for industry and one for housing, etc. These cities can trade easily thus creating your metropolitan area ;)
     
  8. Charlie

    Charlie Level IV

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Messages:
    2,097
    Likes Received:
    52

    Yeah, I think thats how it's supposed to be played. I tried making my city all in one: couple residential areas, 1 big industrial, and a downtown commercial area. There wasn't simply enough land to make everything. Considering you have regions and multiple cities per region that are able to interract with each other I would assume you can make one city based on industrial residential stuff and the other a big downtown metropolis commercial area (IE Manhattan).


    The game is REALLY fun, ive had alien abductions, zombie outbreaks, and earthquakes ravage my city (not to mention a serial arsonist >_>) Just the DRM/Server bullshit is making the game unplayable.
     
  9. dragongirlz

    dragongirlz Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    lol. i'll be getting this over the summer. been playing with simcity since the first one came out. despite the nasty pixelated look the strategies involved in making everything run together really did hook me. :D

    I've heard sad things about internet connections for SC5. :( Sigh I hope it'll be much better by the time I go and try it for myself.
     
  10. yoyobee

    yoyobee Level II

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2013
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    3
    had the game since it came out ^_^ , you gunna build your city within a region , but region resources can be traded , given and such ;> , i really do hope they enlarge the city tho , =/ but overall its still okay =) btw lizard eats rubbish =)

    well for me , the server is okay , only problem is my computer graphics , sobs sobs no $_$
     
  11. snakeblood

    snakeblood Newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2013
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    i can't wait for this game... i used to play sims all the time