What's going on in 2012?

Discussion in 'World of SPAM' started by Commy, Jun 10, 2012.

1. Commy

Commy Moderator
    Staff Member

Man, I've gotta say that this year has been pretty...momentous?

European Sovereign Crisis has been playing havoc with my job (I work in a bank), so there's a lot of 'restructuring' and 'right sizing' and all that jargon.
    My boss decided to quit, so I got merged with another team. My new team is pretty awesome. In terms of jobs, factors such as job satisfaction, money, work flexibility and all that make a difference, but what's gets me out of bed is the team. In a team of 15 people, none of them are nasty! I have yet to see any politics. Blame it on being a newb to the team (about 2 months now), but I'm liking what I'm seeing.

And now for the not so good side. My dad was involved in a car accident. He was having lunch with my grandpa, and driving my grandpa back to his house, had a seizure and a black out. He woke up to this man telling him that everything would be all right. Then some police came, and took an alcohol blood reading (normal procedure, obviously have to rule out intoxication). He got taken to the local hospital, and they did a few tests.

Turns out he has a tumour in his brain, which was the cause of the seizure. You don't quite realize how little time you're spending with your dad, until something like this happens.
    As tumours go, it turned out to be a minor one. It was less than 1cm in length, and there was only one of them. The rest of his body was cleared, apart from a few bumps and scrapes from the crash.

He had the tumour removed a few days after. It turned out to be malignant, but treatable. He's had his first round of chemo, and is back home now. I think he'll be all right in the end, it's just the journey that's tough.